WHO?  WHAT? WEAR! 

I love Sundays! It’s the day where I get to relax with my family, wake up late as there’s no school run or kids clubs to get to and eat my heart out while pouring over the Sunday papers & magazines. It’s the day where I test out new beauty products with a long bath and take stock of the week just past as well as prepare for the week ahead. 

In my happy place 👌🏻


As each week seems to get crazier with work, and feeling inspired by Diary of an Honest Woman’s Sunday supplement (which I read religiously and you should too!) I thought I’d start a regular weekly post where I share all the WHO’s, the WHAT’s and, most importantly give you a sneak peek into the press events I’ve attended featuring what you will be wanting to WEAR very soon! 

A kind of Dear Diary if you will! 

So here’s what I’ve been up to this week. It’s AW17 press day season so Monday was spent planning for the week ahead where I had a packed schedule of press events. 

DeBeers I Do!


First up, this week I was invited to celebrate the launch of the DeBeers Bridal collection. How could a gal refuse? Diamonds over breakfast? This was definatly worth jumping out of bed at 6am for to get to London from Brighton! Luckily there was a makeup artist and hairdresser on hand to hide the dark circles and a room full of excited women (and a few men, mostly of the security kind) all oogling the jaw droppingly good collection meaning the tiredness soon subsided! You can find full coverage on the collection and the event here.

Stunning illustrations of the Johnstons of Elgin collection

Next up it was off to Johnstons of Elgin for a private appointment to view the AW17 collection. After waking up a 6am I walked in and immediately clamped eyes on a pair of the softest Cashmere Joggers! I’ll be selling a kidney for them once they hit stores (you only need one right?!) As a fashion historian I am always passionate about heritage brands and this brand is so full of history, I loved hearing about how the collection was created. Again, it deserves its own post so stay peeled for more! 

Cocktails at 11am? Must be the River Island press day 😂


Just a stones throw away River Island were also hosting a press day for the Women’s AW17 collection. River Island always throw a good event and there’s always an exciting cocktail to be had so I accepted the very kind offer of a Raspberry Mojito before realising it was only just gone 11am! Oh dear! Well, I needed to steady my nerves after all the diamond excitement! Lol 

Dear God let my short girl legs be long enough for these 🙏🏻


The collection itself is seriously wicked and I noticed a great number of my favourite catwalk trends, such as colourful thigh high boots, long leather gloves and a lime green, faux sheepskin jacket that will not be leaving my back when autumn rolls around! THANK YOU RIVER ISLAND for as always delivering catwalk trends at affordable prices! 

Pretty | Cool


Frame Denim just ooooze cool luxe chic and I can confirm that AW17 will be no different! The collection features a number of pretty silk and cotton blouses, laced side leather trousers (also topping my AW Wishlist) and of course some great jeans including a pair of cropped flared styles that look just fab! 

All black everything thing please!

By now I was starving but made my way towards the Arcadia Head Office as I didn’t have time to stop. As I walked in to high street Mecca H/O I walked right passed my fav fashion journalist Pandora Sykes. I was too star struck to say hi but she looked fab! 

🍴Thank you Mr Green 🍴


Then more good news! The delightful peeps at Arcadia had laid on a fabulous lunch for us time-starved press so I decided to take 20 mins out, charge my phone and dig into the healthy, tasty chicken with salads before perusing the collections from Dorothy Perkins, Miss Selfridge, Evans and of course Topshop & Topman, where collectively you can expect crushed velvet, massively embellished details and bold colour! Also, more thigh high boots, this time in red patent! I can’t wait! 

Those boots though ❤️


I also stopped by Topshop Beauty to check out the new Nudes, and Festival collections and while I was there was treated to a manicure to match my dress in their Gel shades. 

A nude shade to suit every skin tone 👌🏻

From here I made 5 more stop-offs at press events including popping in to see the lovely girls at 5th House PR and their Uber girly client list where I spotted these booots that seemed rather apt! 

Or stop for loo breaks on Press days! Lol


I also stopped in at Oasis (who I used to work for years ago as a store manager) and they had created an entire emporium from scratch to present their collections, based around the theme ‘A Tale to Tell’. I love it when a brand go to such efforts to create an entire world based around their story. 

Oasis had a ‘Tale to Tell’


I left here and made my way over to my final appointment of the day (before my evening engagements) to Kensington for luxury boutique Salt, a year round resort wear store, to see their newest additions to the collection. The store is filled with lust worthy options and, having just returned from Barcelona the Friday before, was feeling totally in holiday mode, so their collections, which are selected by the owners on their own worldwide travels made me feel like I wanted to run back to the airport! 

I’m a journalist get me outta here! ✈️

I left the store and headed to the Boux Avenue Summer Party, hosted in a private members club on Shaftesbury Avenue, where I spent the next 2 hours catching up with industry pals over Cosmopolitans and celeb spotting (Fleur East, Stacey Solomon, Dragon Theo Paphitis to name a few) while listening to Zara Martin & Ashley James spinning the tunes on the decks. 

Watching the sun go down on the roof terrace at the Boux Avenue Summer party

It was a total blast and we didn’t want to leave, in fact they practically had to kick us all out but had rather cleverly made sure to tempt us away with a goody bag stashed full of treats including slippers, pjs and scented candles, which I’ve been donning all bank holiday after the madness! 

Old school glamour at The Ned


However, my night was not done and my pal and I jumped in an uber and headed to Soho House Group’s latest £200m addition The Ned for its launch event where we were served dinner and entertained by the live jazz band and served Champagne cocktails in cut glass champagne coups making the whole thing feel like a very classy step back in time! Sadly I had to tear myself away as I had to work the next day but my friend stayed and partied away into the small hours…….. 

Winchester Fashion week with Chantelle Znideric

The next day I was (miraculously) up early ready to travel to Winchester for Winchester Fashion Week where I was styling members of the public for media Sponsor Hampshire Style magazine, where I am Fashion Director. It was great fun working alongside Chantelle Znideric and I’ll be sharing all about the event later this week as well as all the fabulous pieces we used! 

Gorgeous pairing from LK Bennett

Needless to say I’ve spent the bank holiday chilling with the family and panning next week’s madness! 

Natalie x

One thought on “WHO?  WHAT? WEAR! 

  1. Pingback: DeBeers Bridal Collection  | Natalie Courtois

Leave a Reply

